Rosalind Kornfeld Award
for Lifetime Achievement in Glycobiology

The Rosalind Kornfeld Award for Lifetime Achievement in Glycobiology was established in 2008 to honor the distinguished scientific career of Dr. Rosalind Kornfeld, as well as her outstanding service to the Society. This award is given by the Society to scientists who have, over their professional lifetimes, made significant contributions with important impact on the field and is presented at the Annual Meeting of the Society.

2020 Award Winner

Call for Nominations:
 The Society will seek nominations for the Rosalind Kornfeld Award in the Spring. The Awards Committee will choose the recipient, but all SFG members are invited and encouraged to submit nominations under the following guidelines:

Nominees should be scientists who have made significant contributions with an important impact on the field of glycobiology over the course of their professional lifetimes. Nominees do not need to be SFG members and they may be either employed or retired. Members of the Awards Committee may not be nominated nor are they eligible to submit nominations.

The members of the 2021 Awards Committee are:  Vlad Panin (Chair, President-Elect), Michael Tiemeyer (Immediate Past President), Naoyuki Taniguchi (2018 Karl Meyer Awardee), Robert Linhardt (2019 Karl Meyer Awardee), and Kelley Moremen (2020 Karl Meyer Awardee). Consideration of candidates occurs annually, but the Award will be given only if a deserving candidate is nominated and identified. Multiple awards may be given in a single year. Prior recipients of the Karl Meyer Award will not be considered until 10 years after having received that award. Unlike the Karl Meyer Award nomination process, the nominator is not required to contact the nominee to obtain permission or to inform the nominee aware of the nomination.
Nominations: The nomination package receipt deadline for 2021 is 5:00pm MDT, July 16, 2021
Packages must include: 
  1. The nominee's curriculum vitae with complete bibliography separated into:
    1. Original peer-reviewed articles.
    2. Other publications (do not include abstracts).
  2. A nominating letter including:
    1. A brief description of the scientific achievements that merit the nomination.
    2. Other aspects of the nominee's career that might be taken into consideration (e.g., mentorship of trainees, impact on the field, service to the Society, etc.).

Please note: No letters of support are required and none will be accepted.

Please note:  If your nominee wins the Kornfeld Award, you will be asked to write a one page biography and to introduce the winner prior to their talk at the Society for Glycobiology Annual Meeting.

Please send your nomination packages as emails with attachments to Don Jarvis ([email protected]), Society Secretary during the nomination period.